Practical Nursing Cohort 157 Graduation – April 28

Hot on the heels of last week’s graduation for Class 45, the second Practical Nursing graduation ceremony with in-person guests since the pandemic shutdown was held on Wednesday, April 28, at 5 pm.  Students, guests, family, and friends were masked and spaced out appropriate to current guidelines in the Willow Street Campus cafeteria.  The ceremony was also live streamed online for additional viewers.

Practical Nursing Program Director Josie Campbell led the ceremony, with an emotional commencement speech from PN Instructor Ali Nolt.  The ceremony included all of the aspects of a typical PN graduation ceremony including conferring diplomas and awards, the pinning ceremony, and the traditional Presentation of the Lamp ceremony.  This ceremony is a symbolic passing of knowledge from faculty to students and from nurse to nurse rooted in the ancient practice of one nurse coming on duty taking the flame from the lamp from the nurse who was standing down.

Congratulations to all of the new graduates! You make us all proud!

Valedictorian – Sherry-Ann Whyte
Salutatorian – Shawnta Gillespie
Elizabeth Graham Award – Samuel Murray
The Elizabeth Graham Award is presented to the student who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to the ideals of the Practical Nursing Program, through clinical nursing excellence.
Sara B. Shea Leadership Award – Danielle Laun
The Sara B. Shea Leadership Award is awarded to the student who promoted the ideals of the Practical Nursing Program through the utilization of their leadership skills
Excellence in Gerontology Award – Shawnta Gillespie
The Excellence in Gerontology Award is sponsored by Willow Valley Retirement Communities and is awarded to the student who has demonstrated outstanding clinical nursing excellence in the field of gerontology.

Practical Nursing Cohort 157 Graduates

Tori Lynn Allison
Anna Michele Barker
Ashley Lauren Chantler
LeAsia Chante Conley
Shawnta Renee Gillespie
Lindsay Taylor King
Danielle N Laun
Gloria Esther Medina
Samuel Hayden Murray
Priscilla Sanchez
Nikki Seth Sang
Shardae R Shuler
Cynthia Lakanna Som
Sherry-Ann Sheireka Whyte
Morgan Elizabeth Oberholtzer
Thais Iracema Ortega Loaisiga
Rachel Lynn Ritter
Samantha Marie Sabater

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *