Adult Ed Programs & Possible Federal Mask Mandate

September 28, 2021

Dear LCCTC Adult Education Students,

The COVID-19 pandemic has brought many challenges, and throughout LCCTC has strived to continue to provide its adult education learners with quality education programs to prepare them for new careers.  As part of its ongoing commitment to apprise students of potential changes as a result of the ongoing pandemic, LCCTC is sharing this letter with you regarding new developments that may occur in the near future and impact you.

One of the hallmarks of LCCTC’s adult education programs are the clinical and cooperative learning experiences offered in conjunction with private businesses located throughout the county.  This type of “hands on” learning is critical for students to develop skills, gain work experience and earn credentials.  In order to participate in these clinical and cooperative learning experiences, LCCTC students are required to comply with the work place rules and policies established by these private businesses.  For example, many LCCTC students are currently required to complete criminal background checks, drug testing or certain health screenings in order to be able to participate in off-site clinical and cooperative learning experiences.

The White House recently announced a series of initiatives that include the Department of Labor and the Department of Health and Human Services developing regulations to require both large employers and employers receiving Medicare and Medicaid reimbursement to mandate their employees be vaccinated against COVID-19.  At this time, we do not know what precisely these rules may require for LCCTC students, or how those rules may impact the private businesses that are LCCTC’s clinical and cooperative learning partners. However, LCCTC fully anticipates that many of its clinical and cooperative learning partners may require LCCTC students to be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 as a condition to their participation in those programs.

Therefore, if you have not already been vaccinated against COVID-19, we would encourage you to do so now.  Unvaccinated students may be prohibited from participating in either clinical and cooperative learning experiences, as a result of private businesses adopting policies to comply with these new forthcoming regulations.  In some cases, students enrolled in health-related programs must complete clinical rotations in order to graduate and be eligible for licensure – therefore, those students must be prepared to comply with any vaccination mandate.

When LCCTC has more information on how a vaccination requirement impacts your adult education program, we will share it with you.  In the meantime, we wanted to make clear that a strong likelihood exists that the eligibility requirements to participate in clinical and cooperative learning experiences will ultimately include proof of COVID-19 vaccination.

If you have any immediate questions, please contact the CTC staff and administrators below for your specific program:

Veterinary Technology – Tammy Kramer at tkramer@lancasterctc.edu

Welding – Amber Kreger at akreger@lancasterctc.edu

Practical Nursing – Josie Campbell at jcampbell@lancasterctc.edu

or Lindsay Jones at ljones@lancasterctc.edu

Automotive Technology – Brian Singer at bsinger@lancasterctc.edu

Dental Hygiene – Donna Maslin at dmaslin@lancasterctc.edu

CDL – Thomas Goehrig – tgoehrig@lancasterctc.edu

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *